Photochimps.com

Go Back   Photochimps.com the Photo Site for Photographers of All Skill Levels > Photography Discussions > Post-processing your photographs
Home FAQ's of PC Forums Gallery Contests Members List

Post-processing your photographs Questions/comments related to post-processing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2013, 01:12 AM
winger's Avatar
winger winger is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: southwest PA
Posts: 4,250
Default way to make an area transparent?

In the attached shot, I'd love to make the white area transparent so another layer will show through easily without having to draw a mask around the whole car. It's fairly smooth, but the details around the hood ornament and such are finicky (I used the eraser tool to get rid of the background in the first place). But in CS5, I can't find a way to do it. Does another program have an easy way to make a selection transparent? Is there a way in CS5 I haven't found?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg plymouth-cr-sm.jpg (40.8 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Bethe

www.ewfisher.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2013, 02:41 AM
davidb davidb is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 773
Default

In Paint Shop Pro, and I would think most other programs, you would use the magic wand on the white area to select all of it. Then erase all of the white in the selection.
__________________
-------
David
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2013, 03:00 AM
winger's Avatar
winger winger is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: southwest PA
Posts: 4,250
Default

In Photoshop (version CS5), if you erase something, you get white.
I want to put this with another layer and not have to mask the white areas to get the other layer to show only where this one is white.
__________________
Bethe

www.ewfisher.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:17 PM
davidb davidb is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 773
Default

Is it possible that the eraser tool in CS5 has multi functions. In many programs there is a standard eraser that makes what you erase white and and another eraser tool or function that leave what you erase transparent. The other function or tool might be called background eraser or magic eraser or something that indicates not the standard eraser.
__________________
-------
David
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2013, 01:15 AM
winger's Avatar
winger winger is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: southwest PA
Posts: 4,250
Default

The eraser in CS5 doesn't have any other options besides erasing to history.
But I did find a workaround. I made my new lower layer on a blank new file, then selected just the car by selecting the background and then inverting the selection. I moved the car onto the other layer and put it where I wanted and commenced playing. Got the result I wanted.
Thanks for nudging the brain cells!
__________________
Bethe

www.ewfisher.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2013, 12:02 PM
fbruckman's Avatar
fbruckman fbruckman is offline
Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 49
Default

In cs5 there is a check box in the options bar for erasing to history. Just uncheck it and you will get transparency on a layered document. It will erase to white on a flattened document because flattened docs do not support transparency.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2013, 03:54 PM
BrettD BrettD is offline
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Don't use the eraser. Just create a mask and fill it in (you can use the wand to create a rough mask and then use a brush and eraser to refine it). If you have no other layer or a blank layer below the car, that's what will show through.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2013, 09:16 PM
fbruckman's Avatar
fbruckman fbruckman is offline
Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 49
Default

Is there a way to fill with transparency?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2013, 09:56 PM
winger's Avatar
winger winger is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: southwest PA
Posts: 4,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fbruckman View Post
Is there a way to fill with transparency?
Not directly, as far as I could find. Though my method of selecting the white area, inverting so the car was selected, then moving just the car onto my background worked. Two versions are below.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg winelabel2013-1sm.jpg (77.8 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg plym-ver5-sm.jpg (90.3 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Bethe

www.ewfisher.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2013, 10:40 PM
fbruckman's Avatar
fbruckman fbruckman is offline
Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 49
Default

Very nice work. Your method is a good one. As with anything in photoshop there are many ways to do things. The eraser tool isn't the best, but it will work other than to history in cs5. There is a check box in the options bar that must be unchecked. If you saw this in my previous post sorry for repeating.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.